The road to NYC Marathon starts now!

What a difference 12 months can make

What a difference 12 months can make

BigMeFour

BigMeTwo BigMeThree
All throughout my young adult life I was the big loud girl in my group of friends. Even though I had always played netball, tennis, dragon boating, swimming or some sort of sport since I could walk it was always pretty social and I was always a bit big and a bit unhappy. Over the years my weight yo-yoed all over the place as I started and stopped rowing and other various health kicks but for the most part I kept my role as the big loud girl till I was 23.

In January 2010 I decided to get healthy. For the first time in my life I wasnt focused on the number on the scales or on the tags of my clothing. I cleaned up my eating and started writing everything I ate in a diary. This was probably the most important thing I did at the beginning of my weightloss journey as it highlighted just how much I snacked at night. I was eating huuuge amounts of extra calories without even registering them as snacks/meals. I would eat a few squares of chocolate or pick at leftovers/treats in the cupboard constantly before and after dinner. But whether you eat the bar in 3 sittings or in 1…you still eat a bar of chocolate but I would think ‘na, I don’t really eat chocolate. If you asked me what i ate yesterday, I wouldnt have been able to list all the ‘little bits of this’ and ‘tiny pieces of that’ and was only kidding myself when i said I ate a balanced diet. Writing this all down forced me to realise my ‘little’ snacks added up and I quickly got that under control.

I also started wearing a pedometer every.single.day. No excuses. This also highlighted how inactive I was and as part of a 10,000 steps a day challenge at work I started to walk/run over 10,000 steps a day. Walking to and from work wasnt enough, I had to do something extra each day to get my 10,000. And as it was published on the 10,000 steps challenge intranet site, I was NOT going to let my team down! I started running veeeery slowly on the treadmill for 30 minutes which quickly increased to 45mins along with the speed I was running. By this point I had probably lost about 10kg, was feeling amazing and was running 3 times consistently a week. In April a friend then entered me into a half marathon without asking me which forced me to make a choice – waste his money or start believing in me like he did.

I ran my first half marathon in June 2010 in 1hr 58mins and it was the best thing I have ever done. I never thought i could run 10km let alone a half marathon!! Through increasing my speed and adding another long run in a week, I lost another 6kg. The more weight I lost, the better my results were at the gym which motivated me to keep my diet clean and sensible and keep running/rowing/group fitness classing which lead to more weight loss. It was like my body had found what it needed to find its equilibrium.

In total I lost 26kg in 12 months through healthy eating and regular exercise. I was the healthiest, fittest and happiest I have ever been.

IMG_0012

PICT0007

IMG_2482

However, fast forward 3 years to today and after putting my progressional goals ahead of all else and forgetting what is truly important to me, I face another challenge of losing weight, getting fit and running the NYC marathon in November as the athlete I know I can be (girl on the right in the top photo).

IMG_1492 IMG_1609

This is me today. In those 3 years I got a new job, I stopped tracking what I was eating. I stopped wearing a pedometer. I started driving to and from work. I stopped running because I need time to myself and it became just another thing I needed to try squeeze in my day. I started living to work instead of working to live. I stopped being me.

Today I have another new job, new flatmate (who is actually one of the most motivating woman you will ever met) and a big, exciting date in my diary to run the NY marathon in November. I am ready to revamp and overhaul the current version of me. I am committed to making life long changes this year and will be documenting my whole journey on this blog.

Support me or better yet join me and let’s cross the finish line on 1st November strong and proud. Laura x

2 thoughts on “The road to NYC Marathon starts now!

  1. Dale Kutia says:

    Hi Laura, I have read your journey and understand the highs and lows that we experience during periods of time. You kept me reading and I could relate to your emotions. I admire your determination and wish you all the best. Regards Dale

Leave a Reply

