Green smoothies – a great way to eat veges for breakfast

Smoothies are a great quick way to start the day and green smoothies ensure you get a huge dose of nutrients – super important going into winter (*sigh*) with nasty coughs and colds floating around.

Watch out for the smoothies you can buy in cafes as these can often be hiding ice cream, cream, honey etc and add up to 500-600 calories in one drink!!! Some are fine, but definitely ask what is in the smoothie before ordering 🙂

Making your own smoothie is a great way to know exactly what you are eating – important if you watch what you eat or have dietary intolerances.

The recipe below is one of my favourite green smoothie recipes (I make all kinds of variations too – listed below). If you are new to green smoothies you may be thinking “Yuck, why on earth would I want to eat spinach for breakfast?!”. I promise you won’t even taste it.

Green smoothie recipe: 
– 2 cups of baby spinach leaves
– 1 banana
– half an apple (granny smith is best)
– 1 kiwi fruit
– 1 cup of coconut water
Add everything to a high powered blender and whizzzzzzzzzz!

Coconut water is a really good source of electrolytes, it is a bit of an acquired taste (I know a lot of people don’t like it), but try it in the smoothie and you won’t even taste it! 😉

20130606-080224.jpg

Below are some variations I often make depending on what’s in the cupboard/fridge. The list is just a start, have a go with your own variations and let me know what flavour discoveries you find you like.

Variations/additions: 
– chia seeds
– sunflower seeds
– berries
– protein powder (I made it with vanilla and it went nice and creamy!)
– almonds
– mango
– almond milk instead of coconut water

Jane xx

3 thoughts on “Green smoothies – a great way to eat veges for breakfast

  1. Bunny Eats Design says:

    I just bought some chia seeds yesterday and forgot to use them in my smoothie this morning. Bananas are so cheap these days and I usually use 1 banana, a tablespoon of Pic’s Peanut butter and enough milk to make it drinkable. I’ve only tried coconut water once but I didn’t like it at all.

    • Jane R says:

      Ooh I LOVE pics pb!! That combo is also good with some cocoa 🙂 have you ever tried the coconut water in a smoothie? Banana or berries a handful of spinach you won’t even taste it – instant goodness too.

      Jane

Leave a Reply

