Ever thought you weren’t fit enough to start Crossfit?

NOW2

Whose guilty of this? ME!!! But I’m happy to say I didn’t let this hold me back for too long.
Quick story (which is hard for me). I have a very good friend who started crossfit about 4 years ago and she asked me to come and to try it out hundreds of times. I was happy plodding away on the treadmill and was put off thinking it was all about weight lifting and flipping tyres and I wasn’t fit enough to start.
Fast forward 4 years and my dear friend became a coach and a very talented crossfit athlete then packed up and moved to the UK.
When I decided I needed to turn my training on it’s head and needed strength and variety to be a better runner I swallowed my ego and signed up to the beginners course at CCW. Best. Decision. Ever!!

Things I learnt:

  • Crossfit is for every fitness level out there. The coaches help you scale the exercises to challenge you but to fit you and any injuries you may be managing.
  • You find your strengths and weaknesses. There will be things you really struggle with and things you excel at. I can’t do pull ups or toes to bar and always need to take the scaled option in workouts. But I’m usually not the only one scaling these movements (and I really wouldn’t care if I was). However being an ex rower I’m very comfortable on an erg (a rowing machine) and usually do OK in workouts that include rowing. You WIlL find things you find easier than others and things you really need to work on.
  • Crossfit has showed me holes I had in running I didn’t know I had and helps me work on them. I used to try mix up the speed on the treadmill between 9 – 13km an hour but get me outside for a run and this girl would plod along at my comfortable 5.45 – 6min km pace for hours…no faster, no slower…plod plod plod. But we frequently have 400m, 200m and/or 100m sprints (sprints Laura, sprints) and they are haaaard because I’m pushing myself out of my comfy plod plod plod pace. But these will only help come marathon day and fudge you get good bang for you buck time wise.
  • There are plenty of yummy mummies at crossfit. And these ladies are fit and so much fun!! There are all ages pushing themselves out of their comfort zone – some are running circles around people half their age and some are just starting back into exercise after having kiddies.But all are giving it their best and are total inspirations.
  • You start for the workout and stay for the friends. You will meet so many inspirational and fun people. I have met so many like minded people that have become great friends. People who like food, coffee, getting sweaty, experimenting in the kitchen, travelling and having a laugh and who will support you through the last reps of the worst workout. I even found the worlds best Flatmate at the gym! Bonus!!
  • It rounds you out (figuratively) as an athlete. I stopped crossfit for 3 months this year when I was training for the Rotorua marathon, thinking following a program and running 4 x + 1 spin class a week would be fine. What happened? Plod plod plod, shin splints, plod plod tendinitis, plod plod lost 4 toe nails, plod plod plod tendinitis and if you don’t let this overuse injury go down you’ll put NY at risk (that’s my angry physios voice).
    This time around I am balancing crossfit with running for as long as possible. Not only for the benefits of cross training but also the huge emphasis the coaches put on mobility – there are dedicated classes just for mobility, stretching and mashing out knots and other sweet spots. These classes are run by physios so you now your getting looked after.
  • No explanation required. It gets hot in summer and boys take their tops off…damn!

NOW

I think back to when Nicole first asked me to come along and can only feel disappointment in myself that I didn’t give it a go and start then – I mean imagine where I could be now if I was 3 years down the track. But that is no benefit to anyone, especially me. I just focus on what I have achieved over the last 7 months and what I want to achieve over the next 4 months before NY. Everyone started with different backgrounds, fitness levels and goals. The one thing we all have in common is we took that first step inside the gym to see what this crossfit business was all about. And guess what…in 7 months i still haven’t flipped a tyre!

Crossfit Central Wellington is having a family and friends open day this Saturday just so you can come down and see what it is all about for yourself. The workouts are for EVERYONE, no matter your fitness level or previous sporty/fitnessy experience. Please let me know if you would like to come down and check it out!

Leave a Reply

