Mango-nana overnight oats

I follow a mostly paleo diet, so this is a wee bit RADICAL for me (how lame is my life huh?!) but Iately I have been getting back into overnight oats.

This recipe is inspired by my ongoing obsession – MANGO!  Seriously, HOW GOOD IS MANGO?!! And, I mean any kind of mango, dried, fresh, pureed, I’m not picky when it comes to this golden fruit of deliciousness.

I was lucky enough to have a day off work when I made these so I could create this when I got home after the gym.  When I make these on a normal workday they don’t look anywhere near as pretty as this, they are more a-smooshed-into-Tupperware, not-at-all-pretty creation.  But, as I had the luxury of eating breakfast at home (I know, I know, the exciting life I live..) I thought I would make it pretty just for you lovely people.  And we all know that a good picture makes a recipe much more enticing hey?!

 

20140722-202913-73753116.jpg

Mango and banana overnight oats

Mango banana overnight oats:

  • Soak 1/3 cup oats overnight in 1/4 cup of almond milk (or any milk), 2TSB of Greek yoghurt and a dash of vanilla essence
  • Chop banana and mango and freeze overnight

**In the morning**

  • Blend frozen banana and mango till puréed
  • Layer mango/banana purée and overnight oats
  • Eat 🙂

Variations:

  • Add a scoop of protein powder (increasing your protein macros – win!  These also known as pro-oats)
  • Use berries, grated apple or any other fruit instead – I usually just sprinkle them in the oats and then they are ready to go in the morning
  • Add cinnamon

Experiment with any other creations you might like – I have heard of people using peanut butter (also PB2) and many other variations.  Let us know if you find a new one we should try!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mango-nana overnight oats

Leave a Reply

