My mother was right about everything…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f82/65100436/files/2015/01/img_4821.jpgA couple of weeks before my 27th birthday I’ve finally realised how much my mum was right about everything!
– One day I will be friends with my brother
– You won’t always hate being the tallest girl in your class, and
– My taste buds will change.
14 year old me thought my mum was from another planet at the best of times and these promises were just more crazy talk (along with ‘one day you’ll thank me for not letting you hangout at the mall after its closed’ but that’s for another blog post).

This post focuses on how much my tastebuds/palate has changed in the last 10 years.
10 (or even 7 years ago) I would have avoided salmon, avocado, olives, tomato, mushrooms and more like the plague (but I put tomato sauce on everything…what a weirdo). Today, I eat these foods pretty much daily and cannot get enough of their fresh tastes, unique textures and glorious colours.
/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f82/65100436/files/2015/01/img_4814.jpgI’m not sure when/if my tastebuds changed or I just became a little more open minded about trying new things or giving them another go as I got older. Making new friends, traveling, the explosion of new cuisines and restaurants in New Zealand in the last 10 years and my ever growing passion for cooking have all contributed to my expanding palate. If you took salmon, avo, mushrooms and tomatoes out of my diet today, I would be so sad and stumped about what to have for my next meal!
So dearest mum, Muma, Barb, Babushka, Topp of the household…you were right and I was wrong. I’m also very very very glad you didn’t let me hang out at queensgate after it had closed. And I guess my brother is a bit of an acquaintance now too.

Are there any foods you hated as a child but cannot get enough of now?!

3 thoughts on “My mother was right about everything…

    • ltopp says:

      Im still working on brussel sprouts haha. But i hear ya on rhubarb, i used to hate the tartness but now its just delicius stewed with apple. Nomnomnom!

Leave a Reply

